The scoop: Apple’s iPhone is NOT storing your accurate location, and NOT storing history

The scoop: Apple’s iPhone is NOT storing your accurate location, and NOT storing history

by Peter Batty, GeoThought, April 24, 2011

So in my previous two posts I discussed how the data I was seeing in my iPhone location logs was actually not very accurate, and certainly didn’t reveal where I lived or worked or had stayed on my travels – beyond showing the cities I had been to, including general areas I had visited, as well as some I hadn’t. There had been some discussion that the data appeared to be, in a number of cases, the location of cell towers you had been in communication with, although in some cases locations were a long way from where you had been.

via geothought: The scoop: Apple’s iPhone is NOT storing your accurate location, and NOT storing history.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

